Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense & A Predictable Metaphor.

A butterfly emerging from a chrysalis is an embarrassingly obvious metaphor for a human undergoing a transition phase into a new future.

I am a human undergoing a transition phase into a new future.

In a visual sense, I’m transforming from a beautiful butterfly slowly into a wrinkled old maggot/caterpillar thing. But that’s only a surface change. In another sense, I’m metamorphosing from a maggot-brained child-human into the magnificent, mature, awesome-brained old person I’m working on.

I like to think so, anyway. It compensates for the maggoty appearance.

Here are the photos. I took them in a butterfly house near Totnes after my lens stopped steaming up.

About throbbingsofnoontide

Bewildered human. Female. Looking for the next entertaining thing. I write a blog to share the bewilderment. It's here: https://throbbingsofnoontide.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly photo challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense & A Predictable Metaphor.

  1. really beautiful photos

  2. Angelia Sims says:

    Wow! That is really cool. We had silkworms when I was young, but I don’t remember seeing the emergence. Fascinating!

  3. Really love this post! It’s stunning!

Leave a Reply

