An award! I got an award! An actual award!

A thing happened to me today. A splendid thing. I was nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award. Not only that, but I was nominated by someone whose blog I really admire and read regularly: Grimm’s Furry Tail. She is warm, humorous, wise,clever and takes fantastic photos. Do go and see.

This is my first blogging award and it’s unfeasibly exciting – it came as a complete surprise as I had no idea Grimm’s Furry Tail read my blog at all. It’s made me feel like a REAL blogger. And also ridiculously overenthusiastic like an 11 year old girl with a new ipod, or a spaniel with a tennis ball.

As I’m new to all this, I am following Grimm’s instructions on what to do. Here they are:

Display the award certificate on your website.  

VersatileBloggerNominations

  • Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award.  
  • Post 7 interesting things about yourself.
  • Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers.
  • Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked to them in the post.

So. Seven interesting things about myself. Oh. Seven, you say. Um. Well. I suppose interesting is a matter of opinion, but here goes:

  1. I fell down a mud-filled drain head first when I was 6 and was rescued by a man who pulled me out by my red shoes and who I never saw again (Thank you passing stranger for saving my life).
  2. A boy called Jonathan persuaded me to crush a grasshopper between two granite blocks when I was at primary school and I’ve felt guilty for the rest of my life.
  3. I lived for 5 years or so with no electricity, running water or toilet.
  4. I once rode on a motor bike down a dual carriageway with 2 other people and a dog.
  5. I am descended, apparently, from Thomas Percy – one of the Gunpowder Plotters.
  6. If I had three wishes, I’d be more likely to wish away this extra stone I’ve gained than I would be to ask for world peace.
  7. If a passer-by crunches an ice cream cone in my ear I experience a flash of transitory rage.

As I said, interesting is a matter of opinion.

So, the important bit. Pass on the award to some of my favourite bloggers. Here they are:

1. The Heroic Art of Losing. This blogger hasn’t posted anything for nearly a year, but he is marvelous and needs to be encouraged to return to his making-me-laugh destiny. His versatility lies in the fact that he is even hilarious when he writes about things I have no idea about. Like football. Not only is he hilarious, but he exudes warmth and bewilderment like all the best humans.

2. The Life and Times of Nathan Bradley. He is funny. Funny is my favourite thing. You have to be versatile to be funny. That’s my excuse for nominating him.

3. Bill McCurry: The Whims of Fairness. He is funny too. Am I cheating nominating people for a versatility award just because they make me do actual real-life laughing? I don’t think so. All three of these bloggers write about a variety of everything and make me laugh. Even when they write about sad things. That’s what I call versatile, and I’m sticking to it.

4. Mostly Bright Ideas. Everyone loves him already, and I am shuffling onto the bandwagon. He’s probably won a million awards because he writes interesting things, causes amusement and occasional thoughts and draws pictures. Plus he has good hair. Versatile.

5. Peas and Cougars. Again, everyone loves her, and so do I. She’s probably a triangle, writes good words and draws good pictures. What’s not to like?

6. Literature and Libation. He writes about writing and reading and beer. But when someone is a really good writer it doesn’t matter what they write about. I like it.

7. Week Woman. I sometimes disagree with things on this blog, but I am ALWAYS interested and engaged in the topics. This is a very, very interesting, intelligent and well-written blog that covers a fascinating range of subjects.

8. Life is Funny. This woman can truly write and is genuinely amusing. I also enjoy her dad’s comments.

9. The Green Study. She has been winning a lot of awards lately and deserves them for her engaging, contemplative and human writing. Here’s another award.

10. Kevenbartle’s Blog. The Daily Genius. This is a teacher’s blog filled with warmth, wit and excellent comment on teaching and leadership. But it also features the writer as a human. And one of the most moving pieces on death I’ve ever read.

11. Thinkingcowgirl. What I like about this blog is the way the writer’s experiences with a new herd of cows lead to contemplations on life, the universe and… well… everything.

12. Lagottocattleya. I have nominated this blog for the absolutely breathtaking images and the lovely contemplations and descriptions that accompany them. she writes them in both Swedish and English so rubbish monolinguists like me can understand, and she rises brilliantly to a whole variety of WordPress Challenges.

So, for now, that’s 12 nominations instead of 15. I’m still relatively new and finding my feet around here so have many more bloggers to encounter. I would welcome any recommendations you may have. ESPECIALLY if they make me laugh aloud.

 

About throbbingsofnoontide

Bewildered human. Female. Looking for the next entertaining thing. I write a blog to share the bewilderment. It's here: https://throbbingsofnoontide.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to An award! I got an award! An actual award!

  1. kevenbartle says:

    Thank you so much for this mention. Love the fact that you respond to a reward by passing it on. That is an act of pure class. And you’ve made me determined to leave more comments on blogs I like so that I make the bloggers I like feel valued (I’m pretty sure this is a lot of the reason why you got an award, your givingness). Well done you.

    • I think it’s part of blogging manners. I’m still learning the etiquette, but it’s definitely a good idea to tell people when you think they’re good. Especially if they’re quite new and don’t have many comments. On blogs with millions of comments (like some of the ones I have posted here), it’s a bit embarrassing to comment because it makes you feel like a groupie…

      Anyway, you’re welcome. Your blog is very good indeed.

  2. Congratulations on your so well deserved award! I also want to thank you so very, very much indeed for this nomination! And what you wrote about me – this is certainly my best Christmas present! But, I also feel a bit ashamed that I am no good at passing on…I really would like to, but this is a time consuming task. And time is short and precious. I have to let go somewhere, in order not to fall down in that pit again, and at least I think I’m quite good at commenting and making people know that they are good. That’s important. I hope they know that I appreciate them.

    I agree on the etiquette matters, so there I’m a failure…Can you forgive me?

    Merry Christmas anyway, and a Happy New blogging year!
    Yours,
    Ann-Christine

  3. Remind me never to crunch on an ice cream cone in your vicinity if I ever get to England. Wouldn’t that be awkward? I could end up like the grasshopper!

    Seriously, though, you have an awesome blog powered by your sharp wit and striking photography. Now you have a dog so you’ll always have a buddy to share in your adventures! And I am now one of your groupies.

    On another note, I like you, took an innocent life when I was a child. It was a slug. I had always heard they would dissolve if you poured salt on them, so I had to see if that was true. It was. I told my father about my discovery and he said, “Well, that’s like pouring acid on a puppy.” The guilt caused by that incidence is probably one of the reasons I have a career in veterinary medicine today. I have been kind to slugs, snails and other mucousy creatures since.

    • Don’t worry, it’s only random passers-by that cause that reaction. I think it’s the unexpectedness of it…. I think…

      That’s a very interesting story about the slug. I have a terrific soft spot for slugs because they are so universally hated and it seems so unfair when all they do is eat what they’re supposed to eat. It’s interesting how some children have a kind of inbuilt compassion for small creatures, and others will do horrible things to them. I wonder if it’s because some people have parents as fantastic as your dad. What he said was quite strong and shocking, but was guaranteed to evoke your compassion for all creatures. Dads are excellent.

  4. Very pleased, thank you. Did I say that before? And doubly honoured to get on your list, since my blog is not that funny (note ‘my blog’, obviously in person I’m hilarious) and I never mention anything about dogs.

    I’m a bit award phobic, but I have been meaning to talk and rave about some other blogs in a public way for ages and this is just the push I need. Thanks. x

  5. Of course it goes without saying that I’m very happy for you that you got this award…your blog is amazing. And you will definitely be featuring on my list.

  6. ninano says:

    Hello, as I find your blog very inspiring, I nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award, too… best wishes for the new year/ Nina.

    The rules for accepting the award are as follows: Display the award logo, link back to the person who nominated you, state 7 things about yourself, nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.

  7. bronxboy55 says:

    Congratulations on the award, and thank you for passing it along. I like the collection of blogs you’ve assembled for this post, and I’m sure they appreciate the mention as much as I do.

    Interesting thing #2 says a lot about you — the feeling guilty part, not the crushing part.

    Happy New Year.

  8. bronxboy55 says:

    It isn’t that simple to be a good Catholic, I’m afraid. Have you had recurring nightmares about the incident? When you see a live grasshopper, do you experience flashbacks and mental anguish? Have you confessed what you did and asked for forgiveness — and even if you have, do you continue to believe you’re the lowest life form on Earth? That would be a good start.

    • Well… I have had moments of concern about what would happen to me if it turned out that the world is actually run by grasshoppers and humans are being tested to find out how strongly we can resist evil grasshopper cruelty when pressed into it by neighbouring boys.

      In this scheme of things I would be found severely wanting and probably subjected to some sort of Orthoptera hell-style torment. Such as being strapped to a blade of grass, having my liver ripped out by mandibles all day and it growing back by night. For all eternity.

      Probably not a brilliant Catholic.

Leave a Reply

