Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful

This week’s photo challenge word is ‘thankful’.

THANKFUL. That’s a tricky one. I’m not American, you know. I’m not accustomed to being thankful for things. I’m British. We are sarcastic about things. The more we love them, the more sarcastic we are about them. That’s the natural order.

But I suppose I can make an exception just this once and admit that I have reason to be thankful for loads of stuff. Through sheer luck I married an excellent human; we turned out to be fertile, we have somewhere to live, we’re not orphans yet, we have some unbelievably satisfactory friends, pets, heating, Internet and a box Yorkshire Tea bags. Not bad.

But that’s enough of that sick-bag stuff for another year (or until I am forced to drink alcohol again). In the meantime, a thing I am also thankful for – something I enjoy every single day of my life – something that is as quintessentially British as… erm… British things – is the eccentricity of humans. I love them. Us. Here are some of the many examples I have photographed.

About throbbingsofnoontide

Bewildered human. Female. Looking for the next entertaining thing. I write a blog to share the bewilderment. It's here: https://throbbingsofnoontide.wordpress.com/
Gallery | This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly photo challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful

  1. Some fine portraits here. Are you a fan of Martin Parr? I used to love his work, not sure what he’s done recently.
    I’m thankful that in the weekend edition of Pointless (yes, that’s must see viewing in this house, as are the weekday ones!) the inbetween screen reads Pointless Celebrities. Always makes me chuckle, as does AA intoducing Richard as his pointless friend.
    xx

  2. poppytump says:

    *Laughing* @PastyPeople .. Old Elvis …King on Peckham Rye Station …

Leave a Reply

